Skip to main content

Landmarks Commission survey maps

Identifier: 5210.003

Scope and Contents note

This series consists primarily of Topographical and Planimetric Survey Maps of neighborhoods within the City of Boston in which designated historic districts and landmarks reside. In addition to the Topographical maps, there are Historical Maps, Historic District Boundary Maps, and National Register Boundary Maps. Most of the maps are dated from the 1960s, 1970s and 1980s. There are a few historical maps dated 1872 and 1883.


  • Creation: circa 1962-1987


Historical note

The Boston Landmarks Commission (BLC) was established in 1975 by Chapter 772 of the Massachusetts General Laws, as amended. The BLC has 9 local Historic Districts, and has designated over 8000 properties city-wide as Historic Landmarks. The 9 districts include:

•Aberdeen Architectural Conservation District •Back Bay Architectural District •Bay State Road/Back Bay West Architectural Conservation District •Bay Village Historic District •Historic Beacon Hill District •Fort Point Channel Landmark District •Mission Hill Triangle Architectural Conservation District •South End Landmark District •St. Botolph Architectural Conservation District

The BLC is charged with identifying and preserving historic properties throughout the City, reviewing development and demolition activities proposed in the City, providing public information and assistance on historic preservation practices, and providing staff support to the local Historic District Commissions. The BLC also administers the City's Demolition Delay process, Article 85 of the Zoning Code.

source: City of Boston Website, BLC page


2.0 Cubic feet (6 drawers in a flat file cabinet)

Language of Materials


Language of description
Script of description
Code for undetermined script

Repository Details

Part of the City of Boston Archives Repository

201 Rivermoor St.
West Roxbury MA 02132 United States
617-635-1194 (Fax)